There are three levels of visibility for your maps:
- Public: Your map will be visible to anyone on the Tripline site, and the map will be indexed by search engines.
- Friends: Your map will be visible only those people who are your Tripline friends and to people you’ve added to the map as travelers or followers. The map will not show up in Tripline search results and will not be indexed by search engines.
- Private: Your map will be visible only to people you’ve added to the map as travelers or followers. The map will not show up in Tripline search results and will not be indexed by search engines
In order to change visibility, go to the map page, click [Edit Map] and change the visibility options on the right side of the screen.
We disable sharing links on the map page for maps that you specify visibility : private or visibility : friends. We also hide the embed code for these maps. While outside people couldn’t see these maps anyway, we wouldn’t want you to inadvertently post links that would just bring people to an error page – you’d have a lot of explainin’ to do. So we hide the buttons.
Note that for maps with visibility : friends, even if you have connected your Tripline account to Facebook, for privacy purposes on Tripline, your “friends” are your Tripline friends. So be sure to get your Facebook friends to connect to Tripline. When they do, they’ll be added as your Tripline friend automatically and will then be able to see your maps with visibility : friends.